When Should You Give Up On Your Startup Idea?

When to quit, when to pivot, when to stay the course.

Joe Procopio
6 min readAug 3, 2023
image by diana grytsku

It’s one of my least favorite emails to get.

The email came to me from an experienced serial founder. She had started several companies over her career. A couple of them took off quickly and she eventually exited. A few of them failed quickly, and so she learned a few lessons and moved on to the next one.

The startup she was writing to me about now was one of those tricky ones in the middle.

Her latest company, now three years old, was born in the middle of the pandemic, like a million other startups that have come and gone since 2020. That fact alone has been weighing on her. As the macro-economy continues to struggle to find a new normal, her navigational charts are off, so to speak, because she has no guiding data she can trust.

Add in a smattering of personal crises, professional disappointments, and a whole lot of inflation, and she feels like she’s at the end of her startup’s rope.

I’m not going to tell her whether or not she should shut down her startup. But what I did do is tell her what I’ve done. Because I’ve been there at least a dozen times.

When To Quit

--

--

Joe Procopio

I'm a multi-exit, multi-failure entrepreneur. NLG pioneer. Building TeachingStartup.com & GROWERS. Write at Inc.com and BuiltIn.com. More at joeprocopio.com