What Would Your Startup Do With $100 Million?

Every startup believes more money is the answer, but it’s what you do with the money that matters

Joe Procopio
6 min readFeb 9, 2023

You just raised $100 million for your startup. Now what?

I constantly preach to entrepreneurs that before they even begin the process of raising outside capital, every penny of that money should be accounted for in plan that will result in a sizable return on spending that money.

All that preaching raises a fair question, and one I get a lot: As an entrepreneur myself, what would I do with that funding?

There are a (hundred) million different answers to this question, because every startup is different. But I’m going to break the answer down into what you should be buying with that money at various points in your startup’s growth.

Early Stage: You’re Buying Customers and Revenue

If I’m just starting out and in the early stages of my startup, I’m never trying to raise a ton of money. So let’s make the number reasonable and start with $1 million.

I know. I have trouble putting “reasonable” and “$1 million” into the same sentence too.

--

--

Joe Procopio

I'm a multi-exit, multi-failure entrepreneur. NLG pioneer. Building TeachingStartup.com & GROWERS. Write at Inc.com and BuiltIn.com. More at joeprocopio.com