The Myth of Minimum Viable Product

Joe Procopio
6 min readJan 10, 2019
Yeah. She’s mad at your app.

Let’s clear up what a minimum viable product (what the insiders call an MVP) should and shouldn’t be.

To give a little bit of context, MVP didn’t originate in the startup world, but it has gained traction in startup, allowing small companies with limited resources to get to market quickly and prove out product ideas.

The goal of MVP is to get a barebones version of your product out to market for real customers to buy, use, and break. Then you clean up the failures, fix the weak points, and most importantly, figure out where your customers find value and where they don’t.

Make no mistake, I’m a big believer in the MVP concept. In fact, I’d call myself a die-hard zealot. That said, I’ve definitely seen the concept abused, especially over the last few years, and I’m noticing the definition of MVP has been altered slightly. It’s becoming a means to and end. And that’s dangerous.

An MVP is indeed meant to be the quickest version of the product you can put out to market. But when I use the word “quickest” here, that reduction in time to market is achieved by a reduction in feature set, not a reduction in quality.

Lately, I’m seeing the pendulum swing away from quality too often.

To illustrate what an MVP should look like, let’s take a semi-fictional example that’s…

--

--

Joe Procopio

I'm a multi-exit, multi-failure entrepreneur. NLG pioneer. Building TeachingStartup.com & GROWERS. Write at Inc.com and BuiltIn.com. More at joeprocopio.com