How Startups Fail Forward

We’ve all got a few big mistakes in us

Joe Procopio
5 min readAug 4, 2022

Almost any top 10 list of the biggest technology product flops of all time will include a reference to Apple’s Newton and Amazon’s Fire Phone. But they will also note that the Newton was the precursor to the iPhone, and that the Fire Phone indirectly birthed the Amazon Echo.

Failing forward is a known business concept, especially in the arenas of entrepreneurship and innovation. But turning failure into success is not just a switch you can flip. The wrong mistake can be costly, and can shutter your business almost instantaneously. So if you’re going to make business-crushing mistakes on purpose, you should have forethought going in and fortitude coming out.

I’m not spinning out the next iPhone or Alexa, but I make my share of potentially business-crushing mistakes. The learning process is the same. So here’s a much smaller mistake I just made on purpose and what I did about it.

Planned Mistakes Are Never Actually Planned To Be Mistakes

Don’t let my wordplay undercut my point. I’m aware of the oxymoronic nature of the “planned mistake.” And I loathe the phrase “fail forward.” The terms are just too on point not to use.

--

--

Joe Procopio

I'm a multi-exit, multi-failure entrepreneur. NLG pioneer. Building TeachingStartup.com & GROWERS. Write at Inc.com and BuiltIn.com. More at joeprocopio.com